Eufa Regions Cup


The UEFA Regions' Cup is a football competition for amateur teams in Europe run by UEFA. It was held for the first time in 1999 and has been played biennially since. The first champions were the Italian Veneto team and the current holders are Portugal's Braga.

The competition was created in 1996 as there was no European level competition for amateur teams. The UEFA Amateur Cup, a previous attempt of awarding amateurs with continental competition, had run from 1966 to 1978, but was cancelled due to lack of interest, both by the public and amateur teams themselves. Also, as opposed to today's Regions' Cup in which amateur clubs are represented, the competition represented amateur national teams.

Each UEFA member nation is allowed to enter one representative amateur team into the competition, with clubs having to win a domestic amateur competition (such as the FA Inter-League Cup) in order to qualify. The first two finals were won by teams from the host nation and, thus far, Spain has been the most successful nation in the competition, with Spanish sides winning two of the seven editions and finishing as runners-up in another.

All of the 53 UEFA affiliated associations are open to submit a team to compete in the Regions' Cup, as long as they hold a domestic qualifying competition to decide which team will represent that nation. Smaller member nations, however, are permitted to enter a representative national side to compete. Teams were entered by 32 nations for the inaugural tournament in 1999 and competed in one qualifying round. After increased interest for the tournament over the years, the qualifying stage was enlarged and an extra group round added in 2005, scrapping the playoffs added in 2001.

The preliminary round consists of a small number of teams split into groups, with the best from each group being included in the draw for the intermediary round. In the intermediary round, the teams are placed into eight groups of four teams. The teams within each group play each other once and the team finishing top of the group qualifies for the Regions' Cup finals. The eight group winners are placed into two groups of four for the final tournament and the winners of these two final groups, after each team has played one another once, play in the final, with the winners being crowned champions. Third place is shared between the two teams which finish second in their respective groups.

One part of the Regions' Cup that is different to most other international club tournaments is the hosting of games. As the preliminary and intermediary rounds only have teams playing each other once, as opposed to the more common two-legged fixtures, each group has all its matches held in one particular region. For example, in the 2009 tournament, all of preliminary Group 1's matches were played in San Marino. Another uncommon procedure within the Regions' Cup is the choosing of the final tournament's host. The majority of football tournaments have their host nation, or city, decided by the governing body before qualification begins. With the Regions' Cup, however, the host is chosen only after most of the eight finalist teams have qualified, with one of the qualified regions selected as host.

Previous Winners

2010/11 Braga (Portugal) 2 - 1 Leinster & Munster (Eire)
2008/09 Castilla y Ledn (Spain) 2 - 1 Oltenia (Romania)
2006/07 Dolnoslaski (Poland) 2 - 1 AET South East Region - Sofia (Bulgaria)
2004/05 Basque Country 1 - 0 South West Region - Sofia (Bulgaria)
2002/03 Plemonte Valle d'Aosta (Italy) 3 - 0 Lique du Maine (France)
2000/01 Central Moravia (Czech Republic)
2 - 2 AET
4 - 2 Pens
Braga (Portugal)
1999 Veneto (Italy) 3 - 2 AET Madrid (Spain)


10 March 2013

As winners of the FA Inter League Cup the Jersey Football League went on to represent the country in the UEFA's Regions Cup Tournament. No English side has made it past this stage and Jersey went into this tournament with high hopes. However, despite winning 2 matches and losing only 1, to the Northern Irish representatives, that defeat saw them eliminated as both sides finished with 2 wins. In this competition the 1st deciding factor when teams are on equal points is the result between the 2 sides.

Intermediary round

Group 6 (Host Country: San Marino)

1 Northern Ireland Eastern Region 3 2 0 1 3 3 0 6
2 England Jersey 3 2 0 1 4 3 1 6
3 Republic of Ireland Leinster & Munster 3 1 1 1 3 2 1 4
4 San Marino San Marino 3 0 1 2 0 2 -2 1


Mar  6 Republic of Ireland Leinster & Munster 1 - 2 England Jersey
San Marino San Marino 0 - 1 Northern Ireland Eastern Region
Mar  8 San Marino San Marino 0 - 0 Republic of Ireland Leinster & Munster
England Jersey 1 - 2 Northern Ireland Eastern Region
Mar 10 England Jersey 1 - 0 San Marino San Marino
Northern Ireland Eastern Region 0 -  2 Republic of Ireland Leinster & Munster