FA Inter League Cup



The FA Inter-League Cup (formerly known as the FA National League System Cup or FA NLS Cup) is an inter league competition run by The Football Association.  It was created in the 2003-04 season to provide an English representative to the UEFA Regions' Cup.

In previous Regions' Cups, the FA had nominated a team to take part - in the 2002-03 season it was a Kent County League XI. UEFA decreed that in the future all Regions' Cup entrants must have won a national competition, and so the NLS Cup was formed.

The cup is contested by representative sides from leagues at Step 7 of the National League System, with a few other leagues permitted by the FA. That is roughly at the county level or eleventh overall tier of the English football league system.

The first final was held on May 8, 2004 and was won by the Mid Cheshire League, who beat the Cambridgeshire County League 2-0.  The second final was held on 7 May 2006 at Cambridge United's Abbey Stadium and saw the Cambridgeshire County League and Isle of Man Football League compete. The Isle of Man comfortably won the fixture with four goals in the second half and claimed the trophy with a final score of 4-0. The team then travelled to the Czech Republic in April 2007 for the Intermediary Round of the UEFA Regions' Cup. After a 1-2 defeat to the Bratislava team (Slovakia), a 3-2 win over the hosting Hradec Králové team left the side with a chance of qualifying for the finals. Unfortunately a 0-1 loss to Northern Ireland's Eastern Region ended their hopes.

The 2008 final was held at Coventry City's Ricoh Arena on Saturday 3 May. The Southern Amateur League won the competition at the first attempt after winning a penalty shoot-out 4-2 following a 1-1 draw. The SAL team travelled to Turin in October 2008 for the Intermediary Round of the UEFA Regions' Cup where they took on representatives from Italy, Scotland and the Republic of Ireland. The team finished second on goal difference, having not conceded any goals in their 3 group matches.

The 2010 final was held at The Track in Saint Sampson, Guernsey on 1 May 2010. The home side, the Guernsey Senior County League, defeated the Liverpool County Premier League 5-2. It was announced in November 2010 that the competition would be renamed from the "FA National League System Cup" to its present name. The latest Competition saw the Jersey Football Combination finally win the tournament when they travelled to the Isle of Man and defeated the hosts 2-1 after extra time in a compelling final. Jersey’s reward will be to represent England in the UEFA Regions Cup in March 2013. 2 years later and the Isle of Man League won the Competition for the 2nd time by beating the Hertfordhire Senior County League, conquerers of the Dorset Premier Football League at the Semi Final stage, 3-2 in the final on the Island. The current holders are the West Yorkshire League who also triumphed 3-2 to beat the Teeside League in an excellent final.

Previous Winners

Year Winners Score Runners Up
2016 West Yorkshire League 3 - 2 Teeside League
2014 Isle of Man League 3 - 2 Hertfordshire Senior County
2012 Jersey Football Association 2 - 1 AET Isle of Man League
2010 Guernsey Senior County 5 - 2 Liverpool County Premier
2008 Southern Amateur
1 - 1 AET
4 - 2 Pens
Midland Combination (Div 1)
2006 Isle of Man 4 - 0 Cambridgeshire County
2004 Mid Cheshire 2 - 0 Cambridgeshire County